About Us


COUNCIL 2020-2021
President Dr. Hjh Nor Fariza Ngah
Vice-President Assoc. Prof. Dr. Jemaima Che Hamzah
Hon Secretary Dr. Elias Hussein
Hon Treasurer Datin Dr. Thayanithi A/P K. Sandragasu
Council Members Dr. Anusiah A/P K. Selvathurai
Prof. Dr. Mae-Lynn Catherine Bastion
Prof. Dr. Mohtar Ibrahim
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nurliza Khaliddin
Prof. Dr. Mimiwati Zahari
Dr. Mohd Aziz Husni
Dr. Fazilawati A. Qamarruddin
Prof. Dr. Abdul Mutalib Othman
Co-opted Members Universiti Malaya
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Norlina Mohd Ramli

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Norshamsiah Md. Din

Universiti Sains Malaysia
Prof. Dr. Shatriah Ismail

Malaysian Society of Ophthalmology
Dr. Fang Seng Kheong

Ministry of Health (MOH)
Dato' Dr Raja Norliza Raja Omar



The Society was first formed in 1964 by pioneering Malaysian Ophthalmologists, as a society within the Malaysian Medical Association (MMA) designated as the MMA Ophthalmological Society (MMAOS). The Society was inaugurated on 29 November 1964 with Dr H J McPherson as the Chairman and Dr Keshmahinder Singh as the Secretary Treasurer.

Over the following 45 years, the society grew in membership and activities under the umbrella of the MMA, promoting and advancing the specialty.

Eventually, the membership of the MMA OS realized that, in order for the Society to fulfill its objectives and to meet new challenges more effectively, it was necessary to spread its wings and exist as an independent society.

With that, the Malaysian Society of Ophthalmology (MSO) was formed and successfully registered with the Registrar of Societies on 15 April 2008. The MMA Ophthalmological Society was dissolved on 31 December 2009.

As the predecessor society had done so well over the years, the MSO will continue to carry the flag for the profession of Ophthalmology in Malaysia, having taken over all the duties and functions of the MMA OS.


College of Ophthalmologists

There was a need to form a College of Ophthalmologists in the Academy of Medicine since previously the ophthalmologists was under the College of Surgeons. Although ophthalmology is a surgical based discipline, there are a number of sub-specialties such as uveitis, medical retina, neuro-ophthalmology, refraction, optometry and orthoptics which are medical based.

The Inaugural Annual General Meeting of the College was held 13th June 2015 at the Academies of Medicine Building All members and fellows of the Academy of Medicine of Malaysia in good standing who were ophthalmologists were automatically deemed members of the new College of Ophthalmologists.

The College's first council meeting was held on the same day, the following office bearers were elected for the term 2014 – 2015:


COUNCIL 2014 - 2015
President Dr. Pall Singh
Vice-President Dr. Elias bin Hussein
Hon. Secretary Assoc. Prof. Dr. Andrew Tan Khian Khoon
Hon. Treasurer Datin Dr. Thayanithi A/P K. Sandragasu
Council Members Dr. Anusiah A/P K. Selvathurai
Dr. Joseph Vijaya Alagaratnam
Dr. Nor Fariza binti Ngah
Dr. Terrence Soong Kwong Weng
MSO Coopted member
UMMC Coopted member
USM Coopted member
UKM Coopted member
Dr Fang Seng Kheong
A/Prof Dr Norliza binti Khaliddin
Prof Dr Liza Sharmini Ahmad Tajudin
A/Prof Dr Mae-Lynn Catherine Bastion


Aims and Objectives

  • To improve and develop the Knowledge and Skills in the field of Ophthalmology.
  • To encourage, promote and sponsor research and studies into Ophthalmology and its related fields.
  • To hold periodical meetings for the exchange and dissemination of knowledge in all the various sub-specialties of Ophthalmology.
  • To foster and achieve liaison with similar bodies nationally and globally.
  • To liaise and co-ordinate the activities of the various sub-specialties of Ophthalmology in post-graduate trainings.
  • To promote and maintain a high standard of ethics and professional conduct and practice amongst its members.
  • To monitor and maintain a list of registered specialists in Ophthalmology in Malaysia under the National Specialist Register.
  • To provide advice and recommendation to the relevant authorities in the development of post-graduate Ophthalmology education in Malaysia.